How to Apply

  1. Nominations shall be made strictly on the prescribed Nomination/Application Form, and in the format therein. Sponsors should provide brief information on themselves. The Nomination/Application Form may either be collected at the NNMA Secretariat or downloaded from the NNMA website, The form as advertised is also valid.
  2. Only one nomination/application may be submitted on the prescribed application form.
  3. In private consultation with the nominee, the nomination/application form shall be accompanied by:
    1. The curriculum vitae of each candidate.
    2. A statement, preferably by the candidate, of between 250 – 500 words, specifying/defining and clearly illustrating in concrete terms, NOT generalities, what the candidate considers his/her unique and meritorious contribution to knowledge in his/her field of endeavor/specialization to merit consideration for the NNOM award.
    3. A list of not more than ten publications, cited in the candidate’s curriculum vitae, which in the nominee’s consideration, buttresses his/her claim to uniqueness and merit. Copies of the ten publications must be submitted with the application.
    4. 3 portrait photographs of the candidate. iv. All nominations and supporting documents, including copies of the ten publications submitted to buttress the nominee’s claim to uniqueness and merit, must reach the Secretary of the Nigerian National Merit Award on or before the stipulated deadline. Any nomination or application including the specified requirements arriving later than the deadline will not be considered.
  4. All supporting documents, including the nomination form should be sent in three (3) copies.
  5. Candidates with incomplete documents shall not be considered.
  6. Neither the Governing Board nor any of its Specialized Committees of Assessors shall entertain or enter into any correspondence with candidates or their sponsors regarding the processing of, or decision on any Nomination.
  7. The Nomination/Application Form and supporting documents shall be addressed, sealed and delivered to:
  8. The Ag. Secretary,
    The Presidency,
    Nigerian National Merit Award,
    Merit House, No.22, Aguiyi Ironsi Street,
    3rd Floor, Maitama, Abuja.
    twitter: @TheMeritAward

The NNOM Award

The Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) is an “Order of Dignity” and distinct from the National Honours.It was instituted to accord proper and due recognition for outstanding intellectual and academic attainments and contributions to the general development of Nigeria. The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is required by law (NNMA Act Section 8) to confer the NNOM Award annually, on the recipient(s), on the first Thursday in the month of December. The objective of the Award is to stimulate and reward excellence in Science, Engineering/Technology, Medicine, Humanities, Arts & Culture and other fields of human endeavor.

A recipient of NNOM award is entitled to:

  1. Use the designation Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) after his/her name.
  2. Receive a Cash Prize, a certificate, a medal; and
  3. Such other privileges as are enjoyed by recipients of high levels of national awards and honours.


The Award is open to all citizens of Nigeria at home and abroad. ii. Any Nigerian citizen of outstanding merit can be nominated by one or more Nigerian citizens. Any person may by himself/herself, where not sponsored by another person, apply to the Board for this purpose. Where two or more Nigerians are collaborating on any deserving undertaking, they can be similarly nominated for a joint Award.


  1. Selection will be made from wide range of contemporary works which are innovative, creative, essentially Nigerian in content and of national and international distinction; such works should emphasize the uniqueness of the achievements to humanity generally and Nigerian society in particular.
  2. The achievements may constitute a specific break-through in any field or may be of a cumulative nature.
  3. The Award emphasizes distinct merit and upright morality, as this is the highest Merit Award in the Country.
  4. Nominators must not make public the names of nominees.
  5. In order to preserve and enhance the credibility of the Award, the submissions of the prospective recipients are usually subjected to rigorous assessment by experts, known as Specialized Committee of Assessors in the following four core areas:-
    • Science
    • Medicine
    • Engineering/Technology
    • Humanities, Arts and Culture and other fields of human endeavour. (vi) When and where necessary, External Assessors are usually engaged from the national or international academic community.


  • Successful candidates will be notified about the outcomes of the process between October and November 2016, to be followed by an official public announcement latest two weeks from the date of Investiture.
  • The Investiture of NNOM Awardee(s) is personally conducted by the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
  • The Investiture holds back-to-back with the Annual Forum of Laureates of the Nigerian National Order of Merit (incorporating).